Texas Workers' Compensation

Legal Research Made Easy

§ 114.13. Required Notices to the Division

(a) A certified self-insurer that amends its charter, articles of incorporation, or partnership agreement to change its identity or business structure, or in any other manner materially alters its status as it existed at the time of issuance of its certificate shall, within 30 days after the amendment or other action, notify the division of such action in the form and manner prescribed by the commissioner and provide the division with a copy of such amendment or other action.

(b) A certified self-insurer that ceases doing business entirely, ceases doing business in Texas, or disposes of, by sale or otherwise, the controlling interest of the business for which the certificate was issued, shall immediately notify the division in the form and manner prescribed by the commissioner of such action and the division will act on the notice pursuant to Texas Labor Code, §407.045.

(c) A certified self-insurer shall give notice to the division in the form and manner prescribed by the commissioner of any change in contact person within 10 working days of this change. The notice shall include the name, title, office address, and telephone number, facsimile number and email address of the new contact person.

(d) A certified self-insurer shall give notice to the division in the form and manner prescribed by the commissioner at least 30 days prior to any change in the claims contractor. The notice shall include the name, title, office address, and telephone number, facsimile number and email address of the person or persons appointed to administer both the existing cases and the new cases and the location or locations of records required to be kept and maintained pursuant to Texas Labor Code, §407.082.

(e) A certified self-insurer shall notify the division in the form and manner prescribed by the commissioner of any change or expected change which will significantly alter the liability or solvency of the certified self-insurer within 30 days of the certified self-insurer’s knowledge of the change.

(f) For purposes of §406.006 of the Texas Labor Code, coverage takes effect upon approval by the commissioner. Approval by the commissioner fulfills the certified self-insurer’s requirement to file notice of coverage and claim administration contact information as required by §406.006.

The provisions of this §114.13 adopted to be effective January 1, 1993, 17 TexReg 7896; amended to be effective March 13, 2000, 25 TexReg 2088; amended to be effective January 6, 2019, 44 TexReg 99.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

At a Glance:

Title:

§ 114.13. Required Notices to the Division

Title:

Title 28. Insurance

Status:

Current

Usage:

New Law Rule

Scroll to Top